/content/dam/fundacion-banco-santander/es/imagenes/cultura/literatura/jose-garcia-nieto.jpg != null ? bannerSimple.alt : true}

José García Nieto




Obra Fundamental Collection

Edited in 2014
24 x 17 cm
508 pgs.
Binding: hardcover
Language: spanish
ISBN: 978-84-92543-59-5

Here you can buy this volume

José García Nieto (Oviedo, 1914-Madrid, 2001) was a member of the Spanish post-war poetic generation ... Since 1940, when he published his first book, his figure would appear to animate the most diverse literary circles.  From 1943, with the creation of the magazine Garcilaso and the publication of his second book, Poesía, his name stands out as a great exponent of a type of lyric that we know today as Garcilasista. In 1996, he received the Cervantes Prize.

On the occasion of the centenary of his birth, the Foundation reissued the volume dedicated to the poet in 1996 as part of the Fundamental Works Collection, adding a colophon of prose texts - some unpublished - and a moving letter to his granddaughter, which was undoubtedly one of the poet's most heartfelt and valuable contributions.

The poet Joaquín Benito de Lucas (Talavera de la Reina, Toledo, 1934) was responsible for the selection of texts in the volume dedicated to José García Nieto.